Meet the Character: Brett Dunbar

My first ever game of blog tag! I’m “it” courtesy of my friend and great author Eve Gaddy. (her book Cry Love is incredible!) This one is a meet the character game, to introduce a character in a current or upcoming book. So, here we go…oh, wait, first, a visual.

caviezel

Yeah, I thought that might get your attention!!

Okay, now that you have a picture in your head, read on. Or feel free to drool a bit more, your choice.

MEET THE CHARACTER

Answer these questions about your main character from a finished work or work in progress:

1.) What is the name of your character?

Sheriff’s Detective Brett Dunbar. This will be a familiar name to readers following the Cutter’s Code series. In this adventure, Cutter has decided that, contrary to his human’s plans Brett, who needs a little Cutter-style intervention, will be the one dog-sitting him while they are on their honeymoon.

2.) Is he/she fictional or a historic person?

To me he’s real! But I suppose I must admit he’s fictional. Sadly, because he looks like Jim Caviezel.  (See above. Drool. Repeat.)

3.) When and where is the story set?

When is what the fiction world calls “the ever present now.” Meaning present day, whenever that might be in your world. Where is my beloved Pacific Northwest, and one of our famous ferry boats even made the cover of the book!

4.) What should we know about him/her?

Brett is an ex-LAPD cop who has relocated to a smaller, much more rural location in the woods of western Washington state. He left to escape that harsh world and painful memories, and was quite happy living a quiet life alone. And then he ran into the people of the Foxworth Foundation, and their uncanny canine partner, Cutter, and his life was changed forever.

5.) What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?

When what starts out as a simple favor mushrooms into a dangerous mystery of huge proportions, Brett finds himself getting drawn ever more deeply into the world of Sloan Burke, a woman he finds both attractive—a shock to him, since he’d sworn off—and unavailable, since he believes she is still in love with her heroic and honorable late husband. That she is just as heroic and honorable herself makes it all even harder for him.

6.) What is the personal goal of the character?

His original goal is to help Sloan solve her simple problem and then extricate himself. But both the problem and his feelings soon become much more than that.

7.) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

The title is OPERATION POWER PLAY, and it’s available for pre-order now, at the links below.

Amazon: http://bit.ly/11ix37G

B&N: http://bit.ly/1zkqE7b

iBooks: http://bit.ly/1xycq34

8.) When can we expect the book to be published or when was it published?

It is scheduled for February 3, 2015. (February 1 for Kindle)

Here’s the cover, do you think they got close? (and no, that’s not really what Cutter looks like, but they tried!)

Cutter 6 cover

6 thoughts on “Meet the Character: Brett Dunbar

  1. evegaddy says:

    Love the blog! The book sounds great! I’ve met Sheriff’s Detective Brett Dunbar before and I’m so happy he’s getting a story. Of course, I love the Cutter stories–and everything else you write.:) I’ve pre-ordered. Can’t wait!

    Beautiful cover. Hero looks like your picture. At least the Cutter on the cover is a pretty dog, even if he’s not what Cutter actually looks like!

    • Thanks, Eve! And thanks for letting me play tag with you. 🙂 I think they did okay with the hero this time. For a character I’d never even planned, he got very interesting.

      As for poor Cutter, maybe some day he’ll be done right. Although somehow I don’t think he cares… 😉

  2. Rosemary Elwell says:

    I’m looking forward to reading it.

    And at least the GSD on the cover looks like a GSD, instead of a mix. Maybe next book, we’ll actually get a Tervuren?

  3. Lisa Lindh says:

    PLEASE keep on doing the Cutter series – Foxworth can afford to hire as many workers or “sources” as needed to keep Cutter busy and productive. There are few series I have enjoyed as much as this one.

    • Lisa, thank you so much! I have a ton of ideas for Cutter’s future shenanigans, so I can only hope my publisher wants to continue. The Redstone series ran for twelve books and lasted nine years, so who knows? I’ll announce it here and on Facebook as soon as I know. Thanks again for the kind words, I’m delighted you’re enjoying Cutter’s adventures.

Leave a comment