Summer Lazy

You may have noticed my absence. Or not. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But once I finally had to admit summer was really here, even in the Pacific Northwest, life changed. You see, unlike where I grew up, here one must grab summer and run with it. It’s short, sweet, and doesn’t come back for a re-visit very often. And so I’ve been spending time out in it, and less in front of a computer screen except when actually working. (more on that next post) My eyes approve. And to keep them happy, this will be short.

But summer has been a beaut so far, long, warm (actually hot, but with parts of the world enduring three digit temperatures, I don’t feel I have the right to whine. At least, not in public!) and dry, So warm I was actually harvesting tomatoes in July, which is almost unheard of in my little corner. Which brings me to the subject of today’s brief post. You may recall my last post, a picture I titled “The mother of all strawberries.” That would be this one:

momma strawberry

Mom!!

And I mentioned how all of the little strawberries in my planter had come from this one, inexpensive plant purchased ten years ago. Strawberries, which like heat, and summer. At least these do. Because since my post at the end of June, we’ve gone from this:

 

IMG_0132

Nice, well behaved children.

To this:

Invasion

It’s an invasion, run for your life!

We have another month of sunny, dry weather predicted. I think I should be afraid.

Happy rest of summer to all!

2 thoughts on “Summer Lazy

  1. Rowan Worth says:

    Hope you have a lot of recipes for strawberry stuff!

    • You’d think, wouldn’t you? But the berries are so tiny I just leave most of them for the birds. The deer don’t seem interested. They prefer my neighbor’s buffet, it seems. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a comment