The End of My Lazy Summer

  • Note: There’s news coming! For the wonderful readers who have regularly, over the years since certain books came out, written me about them, I’ll have an announcement soon! But now, I have to turn in my “summer excuse.”

So as my last post–over a month ago–indicated, we had a rare summer for the Pacific Northwest. Lots of warm and sunny. Sometimes a bit too much warm for me. All I can say is heat pumps are the best invention ever. Well, after air conditioning in general, I suppose. Anyway, I never played hooky from school (what can I say, I was an angel–a terrified angel, but that’s another story) but I did from the blog. But it was 48 degrees this morning, the flag is whipping in 30mph winds, and I have steady rain. Yep, fall’s definitely here.

Spring is long over, according to my apple tree, which used to look like this:

apple blossoms 2012

And this little guy is bigger now…

fawn

…although mom is still close by, if a bit itchy.

itchy deer

And now summer is gone as well, along with some of the odder cloud formations, blue skies giving way to perpetual gray.

wedge cloud crop

The big question every year around here (well, at my house anyway) is will we be looking at this sometime soon?

Snow11 1-12

Most winters, when we get snow, it’s the perfect amount for me. Enough to say “Oh, snow, I can’t get up my driveway, guess I’ll build up the fire, fix a chai latte, curl up and read a book.” Or “Oh, gee, I guess I’d better finish knitting that sweater, I’m going to need it!” I love those days. But then, I’ve never lived anywhere that regularly gets snow several feet deep, which I’m sure colors my perception. They say it’s a “neutral” year so far, meaning no “El Nino” or “La Nina.” (apologies to the non-weather geeks/non-Pacific Ocean folks–they are Pacific Ocean conditions that greatly affect weather) Which would normally mean probably not this kind of snow. But then again, we had almost no snow last winter, and we very rarely have two back-to-back no or low snow years.

In other words, no clue. Yet, anyway. But my playing hooky is over, the blog is back, that news will be forthcoming, and lots of other things!

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The End of My Lazy Summer

  1. azteclady says:

    *waving*

    See? Just another good reason I need to find a way (read= $$$) to make the move across the continent. One of the adult offspring already iives in NoCal and the other one is looking to move to Washington State in a year or two at most–I need to get cracking (or, you know, win the lotto (note to self: buy at least one ticket, for goodness’ sake!))

    *sits patiently in the corner to wait for news*

    • *waving back*
      A cross-country move is not a cheap proposition! At least I stayed on the same coast. I’m definitely a westerner, having been here since before I was a year old.

      And while I’ve just sent in an update that includes an announcement for my website home page, that’s NOT the news I’m teasing here! (Yes, I know, I’m so bad….)

  2. Eve Gaddy says:

    Love the pictures! If I lived there all I’d do is look at the scenery.:) Can’t wait to hear your exciting news!

  3. Thanks, Eve. I’ll see what I can pull together.

Leave a comment